It’s that time of the year again. The Rock the Bells tour is making its way around the country satisfying old school and alternative hip hop fan’s need for some live music . The tour itself started in 2004 and has expanded rapidly since then from a few shows in California to going Coast to Coast and even international. The tour stopped in Washington D.C. this year and yours truly would have been there but I couldn’t fade the ticket prices at that time. If it was about a week later, I would have been in there, but that’s just how the cookie crumbles. Anyway, Rock the Bells has made some headlines for surprise performances, quarrels, impostors (DOOM, we’re looking at you), and many more exciting spontaneous events and this year has been no exception. Hell, as I type this, there is an ongoing Raekwon and Joe Budden feud going on. Apparently, Raekwon pieced Budden as a rebuttal to the earlier in the summer Method Man/Budden altercation. I’ll have more on this later, but right now I want to post a video of the one and only slick Rick making a surprise appearance at the L.A. installment of RtB. Pretty cool to see Rick back in the swing of things. 

 

Moving on, we have the Genius, GZA, working it out at the Hard Rock hotel. Accompanying him is Santogold. The performance is dope despite GZA sounding like he’s rapping in someone’s basement. Thumbs down to the audio people at the Hard Rock. I do have a problem with this performance though and it’s Santogold. I think Santogold’s musical worth is equivalent to a camel turd. I can cope with someone like M.I.A. being a bad rapper and periodically lacking rhythm or T.V. on The Radio sounding like they fell over on their instruments while record was accidently left on because their music is so damn catchy. But Santogold’s music is just plain horrible. I couldn’t finish her self-titled album. It was like nails on a chalk board. Seems to me like she was trying to hard (Looking at you Drake). Anyway, enjoy the performance. Wu-Tang bitch….

 

Via