The High

The Low

I used to skateboard when I was younger. As a matter of fact, check the post I did on that here. I loved that shit and even though I’ve stopped (again)  I still have stacks and stacks of Transworld Skateboarding magazines on deck amongst a small collection of skate videos and other skate related goods. My Transworld collection is special to me though. I’ve spent countless hours sitting down flipping through those glossy pages. I read the interviews a million times over, looked forward to every “How To” segment, analyzed every sequence and dreamed about winning the “Pay Day”. That periodical has taught me a plethora of things about skateboarding that I’ll never forget even if I never roll again. But the best part about these magazines weren’t the articles or photos, it was the actual skaters. I looked up to almost everyone of these guys.

They just seemed so exceptionally cool. It wasn’t just their skills; it was their steez and their attitude. I loved the community part of the culture. Sure, there are some outspoken, egotistical people in skateboarding, but for the most part people are pretty chill and inviting. Each individual skater represented a different movement to me. Skaters were like artists with their own watermarks and signatures.

But, as with anything, there are always knuckleheads. I remember seeing Jereme Rogers for the first time in Girl’s “Yeah Right” video. If it wasn’t that, it was a DVS ad or something like that. The first thing I remember saying after I watched his part in “Yeah Right” though was “Damn, this guy has steez”. He was definitely skilled and from the looks of it pretty young. That youth meant that Jereme Rogers had a lot of potential. He wasn’t one of my favorite skaters so I really didn’t follow him closely but, I remember hearing around the time that he dropped an independent film, “Jereme Roger’s Neighborhood “, that he had a bit of an attitude problem. I can’t remember all the headlines (if you can call them that) I heard about J-Rog but apparently he was burning bridges and really not caring. The most annoying part: he knew he was talented. There is always that one guy on the court or on the field that’s an asshole because he knows he’s better than everybody else. That was J-Rog. He might not have been the best skater in the shesh all the time, but at certain times, he could definitely dominate and he held that against people for no particular reason. His doucheness seemed to multiply with time, and after some more team changes and sponsor switches, a lot of skate fans were DJ Khaled fed up with his antics.

Fast forward to this bullshit. J-Rog says he’s apparently quitting skateboarding to follow his hip hop career. Whoever is in his ear telling him that this shit is a good idea is one messed up individual. Come on man. You go from switch flipping a seven stair to kicking rhymes with the lyrical complexity of a Sesame Street song. Your talent is obviously on the board, not on the mic. Stop playing yourself. What kills me the most about this is that he’s so good. That’s like Michael Jordan saying he was going to retire from basketball to play baseball (oops that happened). Ok, it’s like Kobe quitting basketball to become a cricket player. That shit aint going to fly, especially if you’re so talented at what you were doing before. Now, J-Rog isn’t the MJ or Kobe of skateboarding, but you get my point. Jereme, cut the bullshit and get back on the board.

It seems that falls from grace are the hot topic around Undgrd headquarters these days. Not good.