I’ve always fucked with Erykah Badu. I remember I used to steal my mom’s Erykah Badu: Live CD (remember those?) and listen to it all the time. Badu, like say, a Jill Scott, is a total artist. Her appeal extends far beyond her music. It extends to her soulful aesthetic and deep lyrics as well. So, a new Badu project will usually get the green light from me right off the bat, but when I saw that she has a song with Weezy, my eyebrows raised quite quickly. It’s really no need to explain why I was a bit confused with the situation but I figured Badu has a good ear, and is open to new things, so it can’t be bad. That is not the case however. The song, called “Jump in the Air (Stay There), pales in comparison to the classic Badu we’ve heard in the past (even her last album, New Amerykah Part One (4th World War). Also, the Weezy verse is horrible, definitely not his best effort. Give it a listen and tell us what you think. Apparently, ten different versions of this song are coming out too.

Erykah Badu feat. Lil Wayne “Jump Up In The Air (Stay There)”

via