I don’t really play as many video games as I used to. When I was a bit younger, I was a serious gamer though. Any new, highly publicized game, I played and if I was skeptical, the good people at Blockbuster knew my face. Now, however, I really don’t play as much. The games are more expensive and to be honest, it’s a lot of the same stuff different, title going on. I’ve stopped buying annual releases and grabbing all of those “must-have” games (COD:MW2, I’m looking at you) and concentrating on just a few games and playing them over and over again. One publisher I can always trust will get my money though is Rockstar games. R* (R-Star as I affectionately call them) is responsible for countless hours of my life spent before a computer or TV screen. And in case you’re a bit lost as to who they are, I think we all know about that little Grand Theft Auto series all the kids play. The reason why I like R* so much is because all their games are immersive, and the level of detail in their games is mind blowing. Story lines in their games are more than interesting, they’re gripping. Characters are well thought out and dynamic as well. R* employees are true artists, not just computer programmers, and while other companies are churning out re-releases of the same basic concepts (how many damn Guitar Hero’s are there now?), R* is busy pushing the envelope.

So, naturally when I found out that there was a sequel coming to one of my all time favorite games of all time from R*, I had to get excited. The game I’m taking about is Red Dead Revolver, a rip-roaring Western that R* saved from the dying clutches of Capcom and turned into one of the best playing experiences I’ve ever had in a video game. It was the western tale that every kid wanted to play out when they were young complete with small, shaky towns, devious outlaws, vigilant sheriffs, and terrifying bounty hunters.  I don’t want to give away the plot or anything because I strongly encourage that everyone play this game (you can get it for cheap if you can find a copy. Look in the used bin at your local GameStop). If you want a little bit of background though, check this review here.

So, the first game wasn’t great, but it was damn good, and most important of all, fun as hell. The potential for a next-gen sequel probably wasn’t realized in 2004 when the game first dropped, but now, six years later, R* has finally unveiled its vision for an updated version of their western epic. It is drop dead gorgeous. Mixing already outstanding proprietary engines and world class third-party engines, the game flows with a realism and flare reminiscent to a classic western feature film. Check out the video showing some gameplay and explaining the physics and weapons and be on the look out for this outstanding game in April 2010.