This has been a pretty though week for me. I came back from Spring Break with the task of assessing how trustworthy certain friends of mine are, eliminating a mountain of homework, telling people I care about how I really feel and hoping they could forgive me for past mistakes, and having to deal with having my “sports pass” revoked. While some things are going easier than others, I knew there was one thing I could look forward to on Tuesday without any shadow of a doubt: Wu-Massacre. There isn’t anything like the Wu, I swear. I had been peeping the leaks and sneaks for this album all the way up to its release and couldn’t wait for the full project. Raekwon, Meth, and Ghost are a thunderous threesome of emcess that aint nuthin ta fuck with still to this day. Very few other hip hop groups can sound fresh in any era they spit like the Wu-affiliates. With this being said, I came into Wu-Massacre with the thought that another classic was in my hands.

And at first listen, this may seem like an instant classic. But after a second or third listen, you’ll probably be forced to change that mindset. It’s a great album, but a classic, it is not. First of all, this album is pretty short. Take out the two pointless skits, and you only have ten songs which add up to about 30 minutes of run time. Another thing is that that classic Wu-Tang balance is a bit off on this album. It just doesn’t have that same “Protect Ya Neck” flow. Speaking of balance, Raekwon is absent on on more than half the album. Not that Ghost and Meth don’t hold their weight, they go above and beyond the call of duty for sure, but that Raekwon flow is just killer and it’s a shame that he didn’t bless all the tracks. The features are good but I just wish there was more to hear on this album.

What there is to hear is fantastic though. The beats are all on point. Production fell in the hands of many but it’s all tasteful and each song makes excellent use of its samples. Each song has that classic NY tinge to it and I hate to say it, but it reminded me of that good, old, classic Wu sound just a bit despite the balance issue. The lyrics are hard, edgy, piercing, and most of all, excellent. Like I said, these guys don’t regurgitate anything. They just take their signature flows and take off on each track. Ghostface’s outrageous exclamations are just as dope now as they were back in ’96 for instance.

I can’t help but feel that if they made us wait just little bit longer, this album would be in the pantheon of the greatest hip hop albums of all time. As it stands now, it’s like a great party that ends way too early. It was fun while is lasted, but if you got a little more time, it would become epic. Just when the album feels like it peaks it ends. For that, I give Wu-Massacre 3 ‘Cuse logos out of 5.