Right before the 2010 World Cup Final, I did a post about the history and current state of soccer in America. I, not unlike many new fans of the “beautiful game”, scrambled to absorb as much of the sport as I possibly could. My fervor for soccer has not died since the night of the 2010 World Cup Final. I try to faithfully watch my favorite Barclays Premier League team, Tottenham Hotspur, play, even though I’m an ocean away from White Hart Lane and I watched painfully as my now beloved DC United failed to defend fixture (game) after fixture to net themselves a last place finish in the MLS. I never thought I would say this, but I really do have a true passion for soccer, just as much as football and basketball. Now, I can’t say I would trade a Knicks game on Madison Ave for a DC United game at RFK, the Knicks and Ravens will always be the teams my heart beats for above anything else, but I definitely can say that I aspire to be a DC United season ticket holder one day and I definitely want to see my Tottenham Hotspur play at White Hart Lane in their lily whites before I bite the dust.

Part of this new found love for soccer that I have came from the spectacle of the 2006 and 2010 FIFA World Cups. The pageantry, the ardor, the desperation, and the emotion were all things that truly captivated me. Seeing countries peacefully battle for supremacy despite their religion, socio-economic standing, race and language is just beautiful. And honestly, what better stage for the World Cup than the world’s supreme melting pot? You may be thinking, “Here goes the American claiming that America is the greatest at everything again”. It’s not that, but I can see how that may cross some people’s minds. It’s just that we have a extremely diverse population, a great network of state-of-the-art sport venues, and most of all, great cities to greet our guests arriving from all around the world. Our first crack at hosting the cup was a surprising success and now with soccer’s interest in the US booming, 2018 0r 2012 would both be great years for a climax of soccer explosion in this country. With that amount of time, if we get the bid, the MLS could aggressively promote the league with the backing of FIFA’s  most prestigious competition coming to the same pitches where American teams play.

There is very little in sports that can rival watching your home country hoist the World Cup in your home country! And until December, we, as Americans, can collectively make that possible. Below is a little video that gives a little insight into exactly how many different people love the game in America. After you check that out, head on over to GOUSABID.COM and to sign the official petition (we’re now over a million strong), vote for your city to be a host city, and to learn more information. The game is in us, so help bring it to us!