Creative writing classes are usually good fun but they always seem to get off to a slow start. The requisite prompts like “write about your childhood” or “your favorite song” unfortunately seem to always open up the class. These are pretty easy prompts, and I’ve done them a hundred times before, but it’s always fun to switch it up an take a new approach to these familiar prompts. So, this time, for the “favorite song prompt”, I picked De La Soul’s “Me, Myself, and I”, the classic single from their 1989 debut album. After listening to the song, I thought about that funky Funkadelic sample that is so dominant in the song. I had been interested in Funk and P-Funk for a while and acquired a few compilation albums to try to introduce me to the genre. After I had listened to those songs all the way through, I still had a thirst for more Funk music. So, I took my ears to internet radio and,  thankfully, got all the Funk I could ever want. All of this led me to Parliament’s “Sir Nose D’ Voidoffunk” which I instantly recognized being sampled in Aaliyah’s “Come Back in One Piece” (single from the Romeo Must Die soundtrack). The song is also sampled in N.W.A.’s title track for their second album, Niggaz4Life. Check it out below.

Original Sample

Aaliyah’s “Come Back in One Piece”

N.W.A.’s “Niggaz 4 Life”